Lovely Lena

I am taking a moment to appreciate the beauty and life of the late actress and jazz singer, Lena Horne. She was one of the pioneering superstar African American women in the entertainment industry in the 1940’s.

Horne, whose striking beauty often overshadowed her talent and artistry, was remarkably candid about the underlying reason for her success: “I was unique in that I was a kind of black that white people could accept,” she once said. “I was their daydream. I had the worst kind of acceptance because it was never for how great I was or what I contributed. It was because of the way I looked.” http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_obit_horne

John Rawling’s stunning portrait of Lena which I posted above, appeared in the April 1944 Vogue Magazine.

RIP lovely Lena

Leave a Reply

