2016 musical gems

tiger

I am pleased to be living out the last days of 2016. This was a difficult year for many reasons, however we need to be grateful for the musical gems that were birthed during the last 364 days. Here are a couple of my favorite tracks of 2016.

 

Barcelona & I’m a Stone – River Tiber – INDIGO 

I need to give River Tiber a special mention here. Indigo is definitely my TOP RECORD of 2016. The whole thing is brilliant, from start to finish. I was a little surprised to not see many people giving this album props on the various blogs etc…I think he deserves much more recognition for his stellar musicianship, songwriting, and vocals, but like many things, perhaps more appreciation will come with time. A big thanks to RT for inspiring me to no end this year!

Beautiful People – Mark Pritchard feat. Thom Yorke 

An absolutely gorgeous work of melancholy art by two master musicians. This ode to loss is musically and visually stunning.

Bullets – Kaytranada feat. Little Dragon

Cudos to Kaytranada for sharing his great debut album this year. Although ‘Leave Me Alone’ was already a favorite from last year, this records’ top track for me, hands down, is Bullets.  Ps…The record’s artwork is amazing.

 

 Welcome To The Jungle – Aaradhna 

I can’t get this track out of my mind. I absolutely love everything about it.

Consideration – Rihanna feat. SZA

This track makes me mental. SZA is flawless.

Ngoni – Africaine 808 

The whole record is great.

4 Degrees – ANOHNI ( produced by Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never )

Yes to consciousness! Earth awareness, dope production, and a transgendered artist getting recognition. F*$K yeah.

Go Slow – Electric Wire Hustle 

Here’s another band that doesn’t get the recognition it deserves. Mara TK always brings some serious musical heat.

Don’t touch my hair – Solange feat. Sampha

The best part of the song is when Sampha comes in, and they jam out on the chorus. Killer video too. BUT why hasn’t Solange credited SAMPHA on youtube…Artists need to remember and credit their collaborators! Shiiiiiiiit

 

Happy New Years! Let’s make some SICK music in 2017! ONE LOVE

Sarah ❤

 

$Rihanna feat. SZA –  Consideration

Leave a Reply

